Milky Way

Sara Jane Ceccarelli

The Italian-Canadian singer's second album exalts the idea of contamination, ranging from Africa to funk, jazz to North American folk, pop to reggae.

“Milky Way” is the second album by Italian-Canadian singer Sara Jane Ceccarelli. The record expresses the character of the era in which we live, which does not turn away from the idea of contamination but rather wants to enhance its strength. Ten tracks, nine in English and one in Italian, include a reworking of Chick Corea ‘s “Children’s Song No. 3” and a reinterpretation with English rewriting of the song “Del tempo che passa la felicità” by Motta. In between is Sara Jane Ceccarelli‘s journey, which ranges from Africa to funk, jazz music to North American folk, pop to reggae.

It would be superfluous to place her and her career within one musical box: she is one of the voices of the National Jazz Young Talents Orchestra directed by Paolo Damiani, backing vocalist on the album by Francesco De Gregori “Love and Theft” dedicated to Bob Dylan, Pamina in “The Magic Flute” in the staging of the Orchestra di Piazza Vittorio, engaged in song-theater performances with actor and musician David Riondino. Versatility is one of its most valuable characteristics. This is neither a conscious choice nor a deliberately nonconformist act: the multifaceted writing on the album “Milky Way” takes its cues from all the music the singer has tackled as a performer and author in recent years.

Sara Jane Ceccarelli is coming out with a record designed for live performances, a record to be played and listened to, together with her historical musicians, first and foremost her guitarist brother, and lifelong colleague, Paolo Ceccarelli. The arrangements and musical direction of the album were handled by Edoardo Petretti, a pianist, multi-instrumentalist, and recent arranger and conductor at the Sanremo Festival 2021 as part of the New Entries.

  • Sara Jane Ceccarelli - voce
  • Lorenzo De Angelis - chitarra acustica / cori
  • Paolo Ceccarelli - chitarra elettrica / mandolino
  • Matteo Dragoni - batteria / drum machine
  • Giacomo Nardelli - basso elettrico
  • Francesco Fratini - tromba
  • Angelo Maria Santisi - violoncello
  • Alessio Bernardi - flauto traverso
  • Edoardo Petretti - pianoforte / tastiere / percussioni / fisarmonica / cori

Of the same genre

A record of identity songs, about folk becoming myth. A manifesto of belonging to an epic tradition, rooted in an America without a place anymore.
No Filter
Karima's big international hits, revisited according to the Livorno artist's musical expression of pop and jazz contaminations.
Naked floor
With his refined pianism, the Crotone artist "strips" the music of words, alternating melodies and moments of improvisation, taking the listener on a timeless journey into his dreamy world.
The end of all troubles
Eleven tracks that make up Sergio Cammariere's great musical journey through genres and quotations, following the theme of love as a feeling that cannot be resisted.
After exploring the repertoire of the great Italian song, the two musicians decided to tackle the repertoire of chanson française, revisiting songs by immortal authors of the music of all time.
Two like us who…
A valuable example of how two absolute artists can interpret some classics of Italian music history in an innovative way.