PMCE Soloists: Music For Two Pianos

Contemporary | Set of events
Thursday 30 March 2023
h. 21:00
Borgna Studio Theater
PMCE Soloists: Music For Two Pianos

PMCE Soloists: Music For Two Pianos
Music by John Adams,
Franck Zappa, Steve Reich

A concert dedicated to the formation of two pianos, an instrumental ensemble with a thousand potentials and for which there is a full-bodied literature from the late 18th century onward. PMCE's two soloists, Lucio Perotti and Giulia Tagliavia, have selected three masterpieces ("Halleluja Junction," "Ruth Is Sleeping," and "Piano Phase") from the output of three of the most celebrated U.S. composers (John Adams, Frank Zappa and Steve Reich). Three pieces that sum up the multifacetedness and visionary nature of the new music of the late 20th century on American soil.

John Adams "Halleluja Junction" (1996)
Frank Zappa "Ruth is Sleeping" (1993)
Steve Reich "Piano Phase" (1967)